Testimonials for the Scottish Clay Shooting Centre

We first opened our doors nearly 20 years ago, and have been hosting lessons for all abilities, parties, corporate days and competitions ever since.

Find out more about us on our About page. And if you're struggling to decide if a shooting experience day is for you (or would make an ideal present), then just have a look at some of our glowing testimonials below.



Andy Lynch, October 2020
I had an advance lesson with Andy Smith... Andy was more than generous with his time, I shot 150 clays over 2 hours plus period. I found the experience very informative and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend his services to iron out any bad habits or to improve your smash rate.

By using my discount card, I received a 10% discount on the lesson and special rate for clays - thank you, Rosaline.



Kirstin, September 2020
Booked the clay shooting for my friends Hen weekend and it was such a fun experience. Gordon in particular, really allowed us to relax and was so positive and encouraging. I would highly recommend this to anyone as it was really enjoyable and fun for all ages in our group.


Nev T, February 2020

Received a gift voucher for my birthday and spent a fantastic morning at the Scottish Clay Shooting Centre. Andy Smith was a great coach and expert teacher considering I have never shot clays before, he still managed to get me hitting some by the end of the morning. Thank you all for making such an enjoyable day, we will definitely be back soon.


Jenny, December 2019
An excellent family Christmas present. Could not recommend this more. Gordon was a fantastic teacher and catered for both an inexperienced and nervous mother as well as a competitive father and son. Thank you so much for such a great day out!


Mimi T, December 2019
I had an amazing time learning to Clay pigeon shoot today. From the moment I arrived everyone was very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely recommend Ron, he was very knowledgable and extremely helpful, trying new things when I wasn't having success. Overall, an amazing experience and would highly recommend it!


'timwheeldon', December 2019
I’ve visited SCSC each December since 2013 and each an every time I have had a great experience. The instructors are all knowledgeable and friendly and keen to make sure that everyone enjoys themselves whilst ensuring that everyone breaks a few clays.

The setup has been altered each time I’ve been which adds extra interest to the event and the instructors modify the way each stand is approached to make it suitable for all shooters - I am an experienced shot; my friend has only ever shot at SCSC once per year and yet both of us felt like the day was tailored to us.

If you get Gordon McKay as your instructor, You’re in for a real treat - a real gentleman who’s clearly passionate about his sport.
I’ll be back! Thanks


'NCLE2019', October 2019
On a corporate trip with colleagues and clients, for those of us not wishing to partake in golf, a couple of us opted for the clay shooting. I have done clay shooting in the past, but this was by far the best experience and great day out. Gordon McKay was an exceptional host and brilliant instructor, I cannot recommend him enough.


'justinarmstrong', October 2019
We all went along today for a family day out. From the minute we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Michelle and our instructor Andy.
We had a group booking but had an extra person with us, adding them was no problem.

The weather luckily was in our favour. Andy was patient with each and every one of us explaining where we went wrong if we missed a shot. We were all very impressed as he's probably repeating himself several times a day but nothing was an issue and everything was comfortable and relaxed throughout, he was even happy to stop for a photo or two at the end. Many laughs were had.

Never done anything like this before but like many other reviewers say this is definitely worth a visit, from beginners to wannabe professionals this is the place to go whether solo or a group booking. Andy and Michelle were also happy to answer any questions we had too.

A brilliant day out for everyone.
This centre also supplies gift vouchers, handy if you don't know what to buy someone, they'll love it. 10/10.


'natasha20mc', September 2019
One of the best experiences we have ever experienced. We will be back with friends next time. Gordon was so accommodating and was great at explaining everything to us both. Staff are so friendly and welcoming and are up for a good laugh with a bit of competition. Highly recommend for all as it's something a little different but very rewarding and Gordon made the whole experience better.


'Littlebull81', October 2019
Had an amazing day here. As a couple of first time clay shooters, we were excited though slightly nervous about what to expect but this was quickly changed to anticipation due to the fantastic welcome you receive. Our instructor Gordon was first class. His mix of humour and knowledge really makes for an unforgettable experience. We cannot wait to book again and the 2 1/2 drive from Ayr is seriously worth it.


Carine G, May 2019
I had an amazing time this weekend at the SCSC. Our instructor, Gordon M., was so much fun to be around. He made us feel comfortable and if I'm honest, he made the experience what it truly was. It was all smiles and laughter around him! I would recommend him as an instructor for anyone wanting to try this fun, one of a kind activity! Thank you Gordon!


'808maxv', April 2019
I’ve been here multiple times and every visit was worthwhile. The instructors are very friendly and skilled. Everything works well and is clean.


'MTchilvers', March 2019
My husband and I went for a standard lesson with Ron who was brilliant. We were a bit unlucky with the weather but it didn't stop us enjoying ourselves and made the coffee at the end taste that much better! Will definitely go back!


'KGDRI', February 2019
My adult daughter and I were staying in St. Andrews, Scotland and wanted to try clay shooting for the first time. We had a great experience ! The gentleman conducting the lesson for the two of us was knowledgeable, patient and pleasant. He was so helpful and had a great sense of humor. He made it fun and informative . If you find yourself in this area, it’s worth a try. They deal with beginners like us as well as very experienced hunters.


Alan G, December 2018
We were there on Saturday (group of 3) and had a great time. Ron took us through some set up and then we were out to shoot clays. Ron was great with the group tailoring the amount of help and guidance he gave to each individual.
Would happily recommend to anyone and will certainly be back in the near future.


Margaret B, October 2018
This was a birthday gift from two of my friends and although I was a bit apprehensive at first, that soon disappeared with the warm welcome we received. My instructor was Ron Maxwell, who was very professional and explained everything very clearly so that a first timer like myself could understand. Not only was he very professional but had a great sense of humour which relaxed everyone. I am still buzzing I enjoyed it so much and would recommend the experience to everyone no matter of age!!!


George E, October 2018
My son and his wife got me this as an Xmas gift and I got my son it as a birthday gift. We both decided to go together. We were welcomed by Rob and then introduced to Gordon our instructor for the lesson. It was the first time shooting for the both of us and Gordon made us feel really at ease. Gordon then gave us a few tips and advice on how best to hit clays. It was not long before we were both finding our aim and hitting the target. Great experience and well worth it.


Sean W, August 2018
I’d never fired a gun before, but Gordon put me at ease very quickly and guided me through learning to shoot. He was just so easy to work with, and after a few (not so close !) opening shots we eventually honed my technique . Once I got my eye in, it was an exhilarating experience! Highly recommended, the Centre is a lovely place, great fun, and there is no pressure to hurry or rush - it’s all about enjoying your time with them. Thank you Gordon - you are a Gentleman!


Michael F, August 2018
I've held my shotgun certificate for a while and have been looking for local places to Dundee where I can go with friends and introduce them to the sport without having to be part of a larger group or take up time with an instructor. The Scottish Clay Shooting Centre are really flexible and the Claymate system that they have in places means that you can shoot as much or as little as you want which is ideal for going with friends. The staff are really helpful and very welcoming, they helped out some of my friends with shooting vests, shoulder pads, protective glasses and ear protection. The traps are really easy to operate with a wide variety of setups on offer, we only made it to three of the traps which was more than enough to keep us entertained. 

All in all, it's a great bunch of people that operate this centre and I only wish I could make more time to go more often!


Nigel M, July 2018
This place is amazing, Mackenzie and I came for our 2nd time shooting and thoroughly enjoyed it (again). This time we had Ron as our instructor and just like Derek, he made us feel relaxed and safe to shoot, he even spent time with Mackenzie after hearing about his weaker right eye and with a little of his excellent knowledge, we now know that Mack shoots left shoulder shooting and was smashing every clay. He even got Faith involved by giving her the remote that launched the clays from the traps. I guarantee that this won’t be our last time visiting. 5 stars isn’t enough to give the SCSC
Thank you so much for a fabulous time


A TripAdvisor Member, June 2018
We had such a great experience here. Ron our instructor was really great. As a first timer myself I was a little apprehensive, however Ron quickly changed my mindset with three words, PMA ;-), legend! We would highly recommend this to anyone who would like a new experience or to polish up on previous skills and best of all have a bit of fun!


'georgegolf1002', April 2018
What a fantastic experience! Easy to book, great value for money and extremely friendly and helpful instructor. Highly recommend the introductory course for those who have not shot before, or looking for a refresh. Looking forward to going back soon!


Kenneth H, February 2018
Don't miss it! Our instructor was patient and very informative. We had great fun. An adventure that was spot on the target.


Karol Robertson, February 2018
Second time we have been.. excellent instructor very patient made you feel at ease, fully recommend it great for beginners like us!! Thank you see you soon.


Andy Mac, January 2018

Went for an introductory session with my son in early December 2017. The information and time spent introducing us to all of the principles, equipment, safety procedures, and so on were very good. Very patient, very detailed and took all the time necessary to make sure we knew what we were doing and what to expect.

My son was equipped with a 20 bore supplied by the centre, and I had a 12 bore. We tried clays from 3 different traps and by the end were trying doubles from the final trap. Instruction during the session was helpful, patient, constructive and highly effective, great morning out , really enjoyable. The only downside was my son hitting more clays than me!


Jack Daniels, December 2017
I came here with a friend on the Saturday the 25th of November, to have a go as we had not done clay pigeon shooting before.
It was a delight, the instructor (Stewart I think) was very friendly and very professional. 
It was a bit pricey but compared to the other centres in the area (there wasn't many) the prices were at the competitive rate. 
Also the other staff in the reception area were friendly too. 
Would certainly recommend to a friend.


Nat K Wilson, November 2017
Attended the centre as a group of friends for a 30th birthday. The instructors were great, made us feel at ease with the guns and safe but also up for a laugh. We had a shot of both shooting in the air and also at "rabbit" level. Great fun and would highly recommend!


'ScobbieDoo', November 2017
We (daughter and I) went for a standard class. Instructor was Stewart.

There was a mixture of experience with guns between us but Stewart worked round that extremely well. Couldn’t speak highly enough of the tuition and the information on clay shooting in general.

Facilities were very good for this type of venue. It wasn’t particularly busy but the venue is very well laid out and can clearly handle a high number of shooters at the same time. Would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the shooting Centre. If you have shot before or just want to see what it’s like for the first time it is well worth a visit.


Scott Evans-Whitnall, October 2017
A fantastic facility with a great range of challenges for all skill levels. It was my first time and with the instruction it went very well. The instructors are very welcoming and friendly too


Richie Lyons, July 2017
Had a great time at shoot and the tuition from Ron was exception. Definitely will be doing this again, well worth travelling for...


Nicky Lucking, July 2017
Went for my partners 50th birthday, wanted something different to do. Had a great time, the staff were very supportive and friendly. Ron was great as an instructor, he was very patient, took his time to explain where I was going wrong. I did not feel rushed or under pressure to end the session. We booked to return in two weeks time. Thank you for the lovely experience.


Darren Stenhouse, June 2017
A brilliant facility suitable for all. Friendly welcome and superb instruction from Ron who had us hitting the clays pretty much from the off! If you've never tried clay shooting before, you've got to try the Scottish Clay Shooting Centre. It really is a hidden gem. But be warned, you might get hooked! 


Daniel Woodhouse, June 2017
Had a great afternoon at the Scottish Clay Shooting Centre. Brought my girlfriend along for her first ever go with a shot gun. She was quite nervous at the start but Derek our instructor was great and soon had her shooting and hitting targets! She now can't wait to come back and try again.


Steven Goldie, March 2017
My mate and I had the intermediate lesson gift vouchers. Awesome experience, will definitely be back. The instructor, Ron was fantastic his patience and tuition had us shooting like top marksmen by the end of the lesson. Would recommend it for anyone.


Jodie Downie, January 2017
Took my sister here today for our first ever try at clay pigeon shooting and it was amazing a huge thanks to George for making us feel at ease and making us laugh the entire time! I would definitely recommend this and will be back!


Lessons

From seasoned professionals to complete beginners, the SCSC can provide expert tuition for every level..

More Info

SCSC History

Now over 10 years old the SCSC is one of the best grounds in the country with numerous trap layouts. It's had some hurdles along the way, though...

More Info